Overwatch World Cup 2018 Teams Have Been Selected.

The much anticipated Overwatch World Cup for 2018 is coming together. Blizzard has selected the 24 participating countries and grouped them together. The header country is where that group will compete.

South Korea

  • South Korea
  • Taiwan
  • Finland
  • Hong Kong
  • Japan
  • Russia

United States

  • United States
  • Canada
  • Austria
  • Brazil
  • Switzerland
  • Norway


  • Thailand
  • China
  • Australia
  • Sweden
  • Spain
  • Denmark


  • France
  • United Kingdom
  • Poland
  • Italy
  • Germany
  • Netherlands


The top two teams from each grouping will move to the semi-finals in November.

Community lead and coaching applications will be accepted until May 14th. While only the players from the qualifying teams will vote for coach, everyone from the region can vote for the community lead. As usual, Blizzard will select the general managers.

Team Tryouts will run from June 1st to July 5th.

We can’t wait to see the League come together and then get started with the competition.

The full league details are below.


Full World Cup 2018 details per Blizzard:

Qualification: From today through the end of Competitive Season 9 (April 28), we’ll be tracking the average skill rating (SR) of each country’s top 150 players. Each country’s progress can be tracked on the Overwatch World Cup website. The top 20 countries at the end of this period will be invited to compete in the 2018 Overwatch World Cup.

This year, the four Group Stage host countries will be France, South Korea, Thailand, and the United States. These countries will automatically qualify into the tournament, resulting in a total of 24 teams. If a host country makes the top 20 through average SR, the 21st-ranked country will take their spot—and so on.

Committees: This year, we are changing how qualified countries’ National Competition Committees are formed. Each will be comprised of three people: a GM, a coach, and a community lead.* Members will be compensated for their time and effort, along with travel and accommodations required to support their teams during the Group Stages and Finals. These committees will be built via the following process, across Phase 1 (May 1–14) and Phase 2 (May 17–29).

  • GM: GMs will be selected by Blizzard. Applications will be accepted, but we also will scour each country for qualified individuals, whether players, talent, or community members. (Application links for all three positions will be provided at a later date.)
  • Coach:
    • Phase 1: Any player with an account in good standing may apply for their national team’s coach position. Candidates will be provided with a custom URL to share, which will allow all players from the candidate’s country of residence to endorse them. During this phase, players may endorse as many candidates as they wish.
    • Phase 2: We reveal the top three candidates per country and hold a runoff vote, this time among the top 150 players (by SR) from the candidates’ country of residence. Each player may vote once.
  • Community Lead:
    • Phase 1: This will follow the same process as coach selection. The country’s entire player base is eligible to endorse as many candidates as they wish.
    • Phase 2: We reveal each country’s top 10 candidates, and all players from the candidates’ country of residence may cast one final vote.

Full National Competition Committees will be revealed on May 31!

Players: Committees will hold tryouts from June 1 through July 5. Players—including Overwatch League members!—can compete for a spot on the team of their country of citizenship. Committees will submit rosters, which may contain up to 12 players, from June 15 through July 5.* Blizzard will work with the players and committees to identify seven players from each roster who will travel to applicable live events.